Margaret Aylward Community College
The Thatch Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9
Tel. 018375712 / 018367778 Fax: 018377718

Student Council

Student Council 2017-2018


6th Year                   Shanley Corbally                Chairperson                   

                                 Niamh Doyle                      Joint Secretary                   

                                 Caitlin Murray                    Joint Secretary                    



Student Council Representatives


1st year                      Amanda Muceniece

2nd year                     Fiona McKenzie

3rd year                      Sophie Duffy

                                   Jodie Douglas

4th year                      Ellie O'Connell

5th year                      Chloe Demsey

                                   Stacey Tunnicliffe


What is a Student Council?    


Our Student Council is the voice of the students. The meetings are where students come together to represent any problems or difficulties they are having in and around the school. Each class has a student council representative (rep) that will bring to the meeting the issues they would like discussed. The issues are brought to the attention of the principal and staff. Being a student rep is a very positive position for a student to enter into.


Why have a Student Council?


Students have a valuable contribution to make to the effectiveness of our school and their involvement in the operation of the school is itself a valuable part of the education process for the students.  The establishment of a Student Council gives students an opportunity to acquire the sort of communication, planning and organisational skills which will be of benefit to them in their future lives.